Umbrella

I guess we’d all like to think that if a friend needed shelter from the rain, they would come and stand under our umbrella, if we offered it to them.

But they might know someone with a bigger, brighter umbrella and find better shelter over there.

My old umbrella was a bit faulty, I would offer it out to people but it drooped at the edge slightly and the fabric was littered with tears that you wouldn’t notice until you felt the cold wet of raindrops on your head. My umbrella was barely keeping me dry, no matter anybody else, if I offered.

Now I have a new umbrella. It’s bigger, and brighter. Perhaps its one of the clear plastic ones with a neon pink trim or perhaps its a rainbow umbrella that is fun to twirl around really fast and watch all the colours blur together. It’s still a little faulty, sometimes I have to give it an extra tug to put it up completely, and its not that effective when its really windy.

But I’d like to think its good enough for someone to come and stand under, if they’d like.

Too cheesy?

Drink every time the umbrella metaphor falls apart.

Look after your own umbrella first. No point handing out an umbrella to someone if it barely even covers you, then you’ll both get wet. Get it? I tried.

x

Published by eightoutoffifteen

21. University Student. Bit of mess but trying her best.

Leave a comment